Brown, Disipio, Schaale Highlight CBU's 45th Annual Athletic Awards

Brown, Disipio, Schaale Highlight CBU's 45th Annual Athletic Awards

Sydney, N.S. – Cape Breton University's Department of Athletics is proud to announce this year's Major and Team Award winners at the 45th Annual Athletic Awards Banquet as selected by the coaches and athletic department.

This year's Male Athlete of the Year is awarded to 3rd-year soccer CAPER Peter Schaale. The Bernkastel-Kues, DE native provided the CAPERS with solid defense and an impressive offensive presence for a defender scoring 5 goals. The 6'3 defender led the CAPERS to 10-0-2 regular season record, another AUS title, and a U Sports National Silver Medal.

Along with being awarded the CBU men's soccer MVP, Schaale was named AUS MVP and an AUS 1st-Team all-star. ON the National level, he was named an Academic All-Canadian and a 1st-Team All-Canadian. Schaale was also taken 5th overall in the inaugural Canadian Premier League draft by the HFX Wanderers.



For the second time in school history, CBU awarded Co-Female Athletes of the Year. A former AUS Rookie of the Year, AUS MVP and 1st-Team All-Canadian, Ciera Disipio (Ottawa, ON) was named an AUS 1st-Team All-Star and U Sports 1st-Team All-Canadian. She was also named the AUS MVP and led the league in points with 10 goals and 5 assists. She helped lead the CAPERS to the 2018 AUS Championship and a U Sports National Bronze medal. She was also a member of the prestigious Top 8 Academic All-Canadian, a first for Cape Breton University.


This year's second Co-Female Athlete of the Year completed one of the most dominant single seasons in women's basketball history. Hannah Brown (North Sydney, NS) led CBU, the AUS and U Sports in scoring this season with 26.4 points per game. She also led CBU and was second in the AUS averaging 12.6 rebounds per game. Brown set new single-season records in scoring and rebounding for CBU. Brown was also named to her second 1st-Team AUS All-star and her 1st U Sports 1st-Team All-Canadian team.


The President's Award was introduced to recognize the top academic performance among our student-athletes. Criteria for the award were developed with thanks to our academic advisor, Allen Britten. This year's recipient is being recognized for their effort during the 2018-19 academic years where she accumulated an overall average of 90.2% while finishing and upgrading her BBA degree. Recognized as an AUS All-Star, from Howie Centre, NS, the President's Award was awarded to Becky Hanna.



The Kathy Reid Memorial Award to given to the student-athlete who was able to overcome physical and social challenges to have a career season to end his 5-year career at CBU. This year's recipient from Mississauga, ON, Shacier Locke. Locke set career highs in minutes, points and rebounds in his final season on orange.


The Cape Breton Credit Unions Most Outstanding Performance of the year award went to Hannah Brown. In the final game of the regular season and the CAPERS needing a 7-point victory to secure first place and a chance at setting single-season CBU records, Hannah Brown delivered. Brown scored 28 points and grabbed 12 rebounds in the CAPERS 80-70 victory over UPEI. Brown's 528 total points were the second most in AUS history and her 251 rebounds were also the second most in AUS history.





Team Awards


Men's Soccer


Team Awards:

MOST IMPROVED PLAYER:  Jesse MacIntyre (New Waterford, NS)


CAPER AWARD: Caelan Budhoo (Winnipeg, MB)

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Daniel Williams (Pierrefonds, QC)

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: Peter Schaale (Bernkastel-Keus, DE)


Women's Soccer


Team Awards:

MOST IMPROVED PLAYER: Rachel Yerxa (Mississauga, ON)

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR:  Erin Freeman (Halifax, NS)

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: Ciera Disipio (Ottawa, ON)


CAPER AWARD:  Becky Hanna (Howie Centre, NS)


Men's Basketball


Team Awards:

MOST IMPROVED PLAYER: Jason Callaghan (Sydney, NS)


CAPER AWARD: Shacier Locke (Mississauga, ON)

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Ibrahim Gosselin-Diawara (Longueuil, QC)

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: Osman Omar (Mississauga, ON)


Women's Basketball



Team Awards:

MOST IMPROVED PLAYER: MacKenzee Ryan (Glace Bay, NS)


CAPER AWARD: Toni Bianchini (Groves Point, NS)

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Addie Mailhot (St.Thomas, ON)

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: Hannah Brown (North Sydney, NS)