Keough Named AUS MVP

Keough Named AUS MVP

Cape Breton's Alison Keough named AUS most valuable player 

(HALIFAX, N.S.) - Atlantic University Sport is pleased to announce the 2016-17 AUS women's basketball all-stars and major award winners as selected by the conference's eight head coaches following regular season play. 

Fourth-year Cape Breton forward Alison Keough was named the Atlantic University Sport most valuable player at Thursday's awards dinner banquet held at the Westin Nova Scotian in Halifax, N.S. 

Other AUS major award winners announced during the banquet were UPEI's Jenna Mae Ellsworth of Charlottetown, P.E.I., who was named AUS rookie of the year; UNB's Katelyn Mangold of Peterborough, Ont., who was named AUS defensive player of the year; Memorial's Brooklynn Wright of Cambridge, Ont., who is the AUS Tracy MacLeod Award Nominee; Acadia's Chanel Smith of Bedford, N.S., who received the student-athlete community service award; and Saint Mary's head coach Scott Munro, who was named the AUS coach of the year for the third time in his career. 

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: Alison Keough, Cape Breton Capers   

Alison Keough, a six-foot-one forward with the Cape Breton Capers, is the Atlantic University Sport women's basketball most valuable player. 

The fourth-year business and science student from Marion Bridge, N.S., led the AUS conference in rebounding this season, averaging 9.9 rebounds per game. Her 7.4 defensive rebounds per game were the third most in U Sports. 

Keough was the Capers' leading scorer, averaging 19.3 points per game—good for second in AUS and third in U Sports.  

In 80 games started and played over four seasons with Cape Breton, Keough has amassed 1,351 career points. Her 782 rebounds are the most in Capers' history and place her fourth in AUS all-time record books with a season of eligibility remaining. 

She was also named an AUS first team all-star tonight for the third consecutive year. Last season, she was also named a second team all-Canadian. In her first season with Cape Breton in 2013-14, she was named a member of AUS all-rookie team, an AUS second team all-star and the AUS and CIS (now U Sports) rookie of the year.  

Keough is the fourth player from the Capers to be named the conference most valuable player and the first since 2011-12 when former Cape Breton standout Cassie Cooke earned the honour 

She will now become the AUS nominee for the Nan Copp Award for U Sports player of the year. Former Saint Mary's Huskies standout Justine Colley is the only AUS women's basketball player to ever take home CIS MVP honours. She earned back-to-back Nan Copp awards in 2012-13 and 2013-14. 



The Atlantic University Sport first and second team all-stars were also announced Thursday, along with this year's all-rookie team. 

First Team All-Stars: 

Alison Keough, Cape Breton (4th year – Marion Bridge, N.S.)  
Paloma Anderson, Acadia (4th year – Phoenix, Arizona) 
Angelina Carvery, Saint Mary's (5th year – Halifax, N.S.) 
Laura Kaye, UNB (4th year – Fredericton, N.B.) 
Sydney Stewart, Memorial (3rd year – Sarnia, Ont.)  

Second Team All-Stars: 
Jenna Mae Ellsworth, UPEI (1st year – Charlottetown, P.E.I.) 
Kennisha-Shanice Luberisse (3rd year – Montreal, Que.) 
Hannah Currie, UNB (4th year – Collingwood, Ont.) 
Chanel Smith, Acadia (4th year – Halifax, N.S.) 
Colleen Keane (5th year – Scarborough, Ont.) 


The 2017 Subway AUS Women's Basketball Championship will be hosted by the AUS conference office at Scotiabank Centre in Halifax, N.S., March 3-5, 2017.  

The championship schedule is as follows: (seeding in brackets) 

Friday, March 3 
Quarterfinal #1: Acadia (5) vs. UPEI (4), 1 p.m. 
Quarterfinal #2: Memorial (6) vs. Cape Breton (3), 3 p.m. 

Saturday, March 4 
Semifinal #1: Winner QF#1 vs. Saint Mary's (1), 1 p.m. 
Semifinal #2: Winner QF#2 vs. UNB (2), 3 p.m. 

Sunday, March 5 
Final: SF1 Winner vs. SF2 Winner, 1 p.m. 

All games of championship will be broadcast live on Fibe TV (on TV1—channels 1 and 401) and available via webcast at 

For more information on the 2017 Subway AUS Basketball Championships, visit the event website at: 

The AUS champion will advance to the 2017 Arcelormittal Dofasco U Sports Women's Basketball Final 8 championship, being hosted by the University of Victoria, March 9-12 in Victoria, B.C.  

Only the AUS champion is guaranteed a berth in the national championship.  

For more information about the U Sports championship, please visit